Facebook Pixel School of Media | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content
Our Focus is Your Future.

Registration is now open for School of Media high school Summer Media Workshops


 WKU School of Media Film students win College Student Production Awards

The first award went to "Dirty Laundry" for Best Long Form - Fiction.
"Come Up for Air" also picked up awards for Director Tori Mills and Cinematographer Haley Meyers. This marks the second year in a row that the film program has won Student Production Awards.
 The College Student Production Awards are presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Ohio Valley Chapter


Ashlea Moses and Jordan Crabbe

Ashlea Moses (left) editor of Come Up for Air and Jordan Crabbe (right) production designer for Dirty Laundry


 WKU 5th overall in 2019 Hearst Journalism Awards Program
WKU won the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition for the 25th time in the past 30 years
 hearst award 


 School of Media students place in the Kentucky Associated Press and Kentucky Broadcasters Association contest

Best Public Affairs

Madison Martin - First Place, Western Kentucky University - "Recycling a Challenge for Off Campus Students"


Best Sports Coverage

Sam Yaw and Zachary McGovern – Second Place, Western Kentucky University – "Extra Point Homecoming Special"


Best News Story

Olivia Eiler – First Place, Western Kentucky University – "Warren County House Fire"


Best Television Reporter

Olivia Eiler – First Place, Western Kentucky University


Best Newscast

Western Kentucky University


Best Public Affairs (Radio)

Olivia Eiler – Second Place, Western Kentucky University – "WKU Campus Debate"


 Best News Story (Radio)

Natalie Turner – First Place, Western Kentucky University – "International Music"


Best Radio Reporter

Natalie Turner – First Place, Western Kentucky University


 Society of Professional Journalists Region 5 Mark of Excellence Awards 

spj awards


WKU Film Major Wins College Student Production Award

still frame from An Adjustment film


Tori Mills, a senior film major in the School of Journalism & Broadcasting, is the recipient of a College Student Production Award for Short Form - Fiction, presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Ohio Valley Chapter. Her short film, An Adjustment, will be honored at the August 18 ceremony in Lawrenceburg, Indiana. https://ohiovalleyemmy.org



 WKU wins 2018 Hearst overall national championship

Hearst Award Medallion


Grads of WKU School of Media win Pulitzer Prize

pulitzer, seven days of heroin

2005 Graduate Cameron Knight and 2006 Graduate Cara Owsley were part of the Pulitzer Prize winning team at The Cincinnati Enquirer for local reporting. The Photojournalism grads credit their time at WKU as crucial for their success in their fields. Owsley is the Director of Photography at the paper and Knight is a crime beat reporter. See the project at : https://www.cincinnati.com/pages/interactives/seven-days-of-heroin-epidemic-cincinnati/



More Events



Find Us On Campus

Jody Richards Hall

The School of Media office is located in room 216 of Jody Richards Hall (formerly Mass Media and Technology Hall).


    1906 College Heights Blvd #11070

    Bowling Green, KY 42101


    1665 Normal Street

    Bowling Green, KY 42101

  • (270) 745-4144





The School of Media at WKU is ACEJMC accredited for majors in Broadcasting, Journalism and Photojournalism.



Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 1/9/20