Western Kentucky University

Creative Writing News


Goldenrod 2013: the English Club's annual poetry festival in which students submit up the three poems for consideration. There's also a guest poet, and this year we're fortunate to have Nickole Brown! After submissions are turned in, the English club will narrow the poems down to ten finalists, which will then be submitted to Nickole for final judging. Afterwards, Goldenrod hosts an event on March 19 where Nickole will do a reading. The winners, who receive prize money and a workshop with the guest, are announced and able to read their poems at the Goldenrod event! Submissions are due on March 5 by 4:30, in CH 135.

Henry Fiction Award– a $500 award–  is specifically for creative writing majors and minors. Here's the info:
1.       Applicants must be full time undergraduate students at WKU.
2.       Applicants must be creative writing majors or minors.
3.       Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or above.
4.       Financial need will be considered once finalists are determined.
5.       Each applicant must submit a writing sample of his or her fiction (only a short story, not a novel excerpt), no longer than 20 pages in length.
6.       The story is due in the marked basket in CH 135 by Tuesday, April 1, 2014. The office closes at 4:30 p.m.
If there are any questions about the award, please contact Dr. David Bell (david.j.bell@wku.edu).

The 16th Annual Gender & Woman's Studies Writing Contest is now accepting submissions! They're accepting poetry, fiction, or nonfiction– as long as it explores feminist themes/issues.The winners, one undergraduate and one graduate, will be honored at the Gender & Women's Studies Annual Awards Ceremony on Monday, April 29, 2013. Each winner will receive a $100 award.

Here are the details: Any WKU student may submit one original, unpublished work up to 750 words. Entrant's name must not appear on the manuscript, but should be accompanied by a cover sheet that includes the title of the piece, genre, name, student ID number, local address, undergrad or grad status, and WKU e-mail address. Deadline: 4PM on Friday, March 29, 2013


Recent Graduate Morgan Elkund had her poem, "News Stories," accepted by the prestigious ABZ: A Poetry Journal for their 7th annual volume coming May 2012.


Isiah Fish (Creative Writing) won the Sarabande Flo Gault Poetry contest for Kentucky undergraduates.


The Outstanding Major Award of 2011 for Creative Writing goes to Jennifer Kiefer.


Creative Writers who published and/or won awards this year include:

  • Jesse Knifely, Molly Koeneman, and recent graduate Sara Holcombe had stories included in Commutability, a short fiction anthology edited by David Bell and Molly McCaffrey.
  • Cameron Stringer's "Do Barbies Dream of Plastic Sheep? A True Story of My First Failed Relationship" was published in Thoreau's Rooster: a national undergraduate journal of creative nonfiction.
  • Mason Broadwell published two poems in poemleon: a journal of poetry.
  • Morgan Elkund published two poems in The Peacock's Feet.
  • Tracy Jo Ingram earned an honorable mention in the Sarabunde Books Flo Gault students poetry competition.
  • Brent Fish was the runner-up for fiction for the Iron Horse Discovered Voices Award.
  • Molly Koeneman, Seanna Wilhelm, and Andrew Marlow Bergman took first, second, and third place at the Jim Wayne Miller Celebration of Writing workship leb by novelist Sharyn McCrumb.


Five English Majors wrote one act plays features in this year's Famous for 15 Minutes New Play Festival: Ashley Alvord, Nick Asher, Andrew Barlow Bergman, Blain Corless, and Nicholas Stafford Weller.


The Zephyrus award winners:

Marianne Hale, Jim Wayne Miller Poetry Award

Hanna Morris, Browning Literary Club Poetry Award

Audrey Gearheart, Ann Travelstead Fiction Award of the Ladies Literary Club

Will Hollis, Wanda Gatlin Essay Award


Lindsey Houchin, an English and Allied Language Arts major has just been awarded a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship to study at the University of Johannesburg in South Africa!


Jenny Kiefer won first place and Audrey Gearhart won third in the original fiction category at the Sigma Tau Delta Conference. The confererence took place on March 25-26 in Pittsburgh, PA.

Congratulations to Jenny, Audrey, and all of the WKU students at the conference!

 Last Modified 3/18/14