Facebook Pixel Blackboard Collaborate - Faculty | Western Kentucky University Skip to main content

Center for Innovative Teaching & Learning - Blackboard Collaborate - Faculty


Creating Your Sessions

Once within the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Tool, you can create your own sessions. These sessions are the rooms where you will hold your synchronous meetings.

1. Select the Create Session button in the top, right-hand corner of the Sessions screen.

To create a session just select the plus sign in the top, righthand corner.

2. Give the New Session a title.

This picture is showing that if you select the box above event details, you can give the session a title

3. Choose whether or not guests can access the session (people who are outside of users in your course site). This is important if you have a guest speaker participating or students from a different section of your course. If you would like to allow guest access, select the Guest Access box and select the dropdown menu under Guest Role to choose the guest role within the session.

You can also assign roles to the guest.

4. Copy the Guest Link to distribute to guests.

Once the guest have been assigned  a role. Copy the guest link to distribute to the guests.

5. Distinguish when the session will start and end.

Set when the session will start and end

6. Select No End (Open Session) if you would like to keep the session open indefinitely. Selecting No End is a good idea, if you would like to re-use the same session/room for multiple meetings.

Choose "No End (Open Session)" to keep that session open indefinitely

7. Skip Repeat Session.

8. Select the Early Entry dropdown menu and choose the earliest a student can access the session.

Set a time for the earliest a student can access the session.

9. Expand Session Settings by clicking the dropdown arrow.

Hit the drop down arrow to expand the sessions settings.

10. Under Default Participant Role, click the dropdown menu and select the participant role. This decides what permissions your students will have upon entering the session. For more information regarding Roles, please see the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Roles webpage. If you have questions regarding what roles your students should have for a particular project, please contact CITL.

You can select the participant role by hitting the drop down arrow and assigning a role.

11. Select Allow Recording Downloads if you want to allow participants to download the recording.

 You can allow participants to download recordings by clicking the box allow recording downloads.

12. Choose whether or not participants can share their audio, video, post chat messages, and/or draw on the whiteboard and files.

Check the boxes that you want the participants to be able to do or don't check them if you don't wnat them to. Participants can share their audio, video, post chat messages, and/or draw on the whiteboard and files only if you allow it.

13. Select Allow users to join the session using a telephone if you want to allow participants to use their phone to join the session. This is useful in cases of technical difficulty. Click Save.

You can also allow users to join the session by using a telephone.

14. Give the session a short description and click Save.

Once a session has been created. Give it a short description.


 

Some of the links on this page may require additional software to view.

 Last Modified 11/12/19